top of page

My Favorite Things: March Edition

You may start to notice a theme here once you take a look at my favorite things for this month. I'll let you figure it out. :-)





life after death: sister Souljah




This is the sequel, I didn't know I was waiting on bated breath for. I was first introduced to sister Souljah when I read the coldest winter ever, which is argubably one of the best books of all time. perhaps, not all time, but one of the best books I've ever read in it's genre for sure. when I heard the sequel to one of my favorite books was coming out, I instantly hit the preorder button on my iPad. I finished it today, three days after I purchased it. now does that speak to how good or bad the book is? I'll let you be the judge. here's an excerpt from the book found on amazon:


Winter Santiaga hit time served. Still stunning, still pretty, still bold, still loves her father more than any man in the world, still got her hustle and high fashion flow. She’s eager to pay back her enemies, rebuild her father’s empire, reset his crown, and ultimately to snatch Midnight back into her life no matter which bitch had him while she was locked up. But Winter is not the only one with revenge on her mind. Simone, Winter’s young business partner and friend, is locked and loaded and Winter is her target. Will she blow Winter’s head off? Can Winter dodge the bullets? Or will at least one bullet blast Winter into another world? Either way Winter is fearless. Hell is the same as any hood and certainly the Brooklyn hood she grew up in. That’s what Winter thinks.



 




Blue Tile Wallpaper






we're all in quarantine. I can't imagine that I am the only person who has gotten tired of looking at the walls of their home, and decided they wanted to change them up. in the past year, I have painted my downstairs, including the half bathroom, and the stair way. installed floating shelves and new shelves in my pantry (more on that later), but how to "refresh" the tile backsplash in my kitchen eluded me. until I came across the wallpaper. who knew just some simple peel and stick wallpaper would help transform my kitchen. my pantry refresh came from this wonderful blog I stumbled upon during one of my instagram binges. check out her pantry glow up here.





 

Floating Wood Shelves


Another consequence of being home staring at the same four walls over and over again. not only did I want to paint and put wallpaper on those walls, but I decided that some floating wood shelves would not only add to the decor of my home, but provide some function as well. I had my husband make some for me, similar to the ones pictured above, and they make that empty space on the wall in my bedroom look great. not to mention I finally have been able to get all of those books off of my floor on my side of the bed.






 



The calm app



I got the chance to try out this app, thru my American Express card last year. in June of 2020, I received an email that they were paying for me to use the service free for a year. of course, I jumped at the word "free" and downloaded the app. but didn't use it for about a month or so, until one day I just could not sleep. I opened the app, and there on the front page was Matthew mcconaughey's beautiful face, inviting me to listen to his sleep stories. I turned it on, and was out within minutes. I've been hooked on this app ever since. so much so, that after the trial, they've converted another customer.




 




cheez-its






Yes, I know, but hear me out. no, I didn't just discover these tasty treats this month. I've loved them for years. however, I haven't been eating them at all lately. I made an order for groceries awhile ago (Walmart grocery delivery is awesome btw, totally worth the $12 a month), and at checkout, they reminded me that it was something I had ordered in the past. so, like any other compulsive shopper would do, I added them to my cart. oh how I had forgotten how much I enjoyed the salty, cheesy cracker. it has brought me no small amount of joy over the last few weeks.




 






these really cool shades




and for my last "favorite" item, these blinds that look like shades. there's not really too much I can say about them except I just love the way they look! they also don't move up and down like typical shades, so I don't have to worry about the blinds getting messed up (a huge pet peeve of mine). I've put them on all four windows in my kitchen, and the big window in my bedroom.


(Excuse my husband's feet)


I purchased the brown color for my kitchen.






4 views0 comments
bottom of page